Le Tourbillon de la Vie

23 Aug

Well the past few days certainly have been a whirlwind. Not only are we all scrambling to find housing in this damned city, but we have activities that count for a grade that we cannot miss. I’ve been really exhausted lately, I can’t fall asleep until between 1 and 3 in the morning and then I wake up a few hours later and cannot go back to bed until 6 or 7. Then I wake up at 9. I took a nap but woke up so delirious I thought it was the next morning and that I was late for an activity. Scariest moment of my life.

Regardless, we’ve been doing a lot of stuff. We had an orientation, then a welcome dinner and a boat cruise on the Seine on Monday. Tuesday we had oral exams and housing search. Wednesday we did a ciné-balade, or a walking tour based off of the movie Midnight in Paris (which was kinda boring), and then today we had a cooking class which was a ton of fun. My partner Simone and I were in charge of choux (puff pastries like the ones at my party) and an olive tapenade. The chefs that were teaching us and overseeing us were very impressed with both of our dishes and we felt all warm and tingly inside. It was also super yummy. Then we searched for more housing.

It’s been really interesting meeting everyone else who is on this program. At night we congregate on the terrace at the top of our building and talk and relax. And we’ve been going to the Seine at night to hang out. We also found a really great gelato place, Amorino. SO GOOD. We’ve gone two nights in a row now, its THAT fantastic.

Housing is very stressful and I haven’t found anything yet. But here’s to hoping it gets better!

Leave a comment