Avant la Fin de l’Année (School)

16 Jan

Wow it has certainly been awhile. Call me a lazy bastard or call me way too busy. I assure you I’m  both. 

In any case, so much has happened over the past few months ! Which means lots and lots to write (of which i’ll break into multiple posts). I started traveling, I finished school, I made great friends, and I’ve learned a lot. I’ll begin with school since that’s the reason that I’m technically here.

I really enjoyed school here, I learned the french language more in depth and felt like I really started to understand what it was all about. Unfortunately, all of my classes were FLE (French language as a second language courses), this meant that I didn’t have regular university courses with French students, rather I was with all international ones. However, I did get to make friends with people from other parts of Europe which was pretty amazing. 

Classes were not exceptionally challenging, but I did work hard and that hard work paid off. At the  end of the semester one of my favorite professors was looking over a paper I wrote and said (translated) : “Mikayla, do you feel like you’ve improved ? Because you’ve improved, this is really good.” And I definitely do feel like I’ve improved, though I’m still nowhere near fluent.

I’ve received half of my grades so far which have really pleased me. 15 (A), 16(A), and 12(B+). Now just anxiously awaiting the rest. 

Next semester will definitely be much more challenging though. I can only take one FLE class, so I’ll be flung into the center of regular French courses. But I still have two weeks before I even have to worry about that since school doesn’t even begin until February 4th! (yay) #outofsightoutofmind

Leave a comment